Professional Behaviours in the Nursing Profession: Personal Reflection

Professional behaviours involve being aware of my responsibilities in the healthcare setting and being able to carry them out efficiently and accurately. Furthermore, being professional also means being able to behave accordingly within the workplace – knowing how to address concerns properly and having the right attitude when dealing with patients, doctors, co-workers and other healthcare practitioners. These behaviours and “working attitudes” are very important in the healthcare facility because they reflect professionalism and integrity as a person and as an educated individual. Moreover, these behaviours can set the standards in the quality of healthcare. Thus it is of utmost importance to carry out proper attitude, behaviour and image at all times.

In my first clinical rotation in assisted living and long-term care facility, I have realized that there is a lot to learn. More than the theoretical knowledge I have learned in the class, it is also important to learn how to communicate with the other health practitioners, with the patients and also with their families. It is not enough that I am able to carry out my duties and responsibilities on a day-to-day basis. It is just as essential to learn how to adapt to the environment. Involvement in the healthcare industry requires a lot of patience and dedication. Each day is always different from the previous one. Patients come in many forms and even the other people I am working with sometimes go through a lot of stress especially when confronted with difficult situations. Thus, I have to learn how to become more flexible and understanding under various circumstances.

Being a Christian has allowed me to reflect on my values within the workplace. I practice respect and honesty at all times to supplement the daily tasks I have to perform. When working with patients, I try my best to lengthen my patience. I believe that more than proper and quality healthcare; these people also deserve concern and compassion from others. There are some patients who I feel need somebody to talk to in order to feel better or to boost their confidence. I try my best to understand them and to become more sensitive to their needs. I believe that patients need people they can count on. “Patients value honest and trustworthy care and will seek organizations and clinicians they feel they can trust” (Perry, 2014).

Being a part of a healthcare team, I often feel that I should become aware about the importance of having strong moral standards. Education plays a huge part in the formation of essential virtues that professionals must have along with the fundamental knowledge. It accounts for awareness and sensitivity about the needs of others. I believe that being in the healthcare field requires well-balanced knowledge and moral standards to have a more fulfilling experience as a professional. “Moral courage is a virtue; a virtue that puts into action the reasoning and wisdom acquired through education and experience” (Lachman, 2009, p. 11).

It takes a lot to become a successful and fulfilled nurse. In my own personal account, it is not enough to carry out the duties accurately based on the job description. It is just as important to acknowledge the important of service. Nursing is about providing quality healthcare services that every patient deserves. It also involves genuine concern and compassion. Patients tend to feel good when the people around them are positive, encouraging and pleasant. For this reason, I strongly believe that every patient deserves a smile or a gentle word of encouragement to make them feel good about themselves and to have a more positive outlook. It also contributes a better environment within the facility.

As a conclusion to my reflection, I would like to reinstate the importance of balancing theoretical knowledge and ethical values when working in a healthcare facility. It accounts for professionalism and a more positive aura which are much-needed behaviours within such working environment.


Lachman, V. (2009). Ethical Challenges in Health Care: Developing Your Moral   Compass. New York: Springer Publishing Company, LLC.

Perry, F. (20014). The Tracks We Leave: Ethics and Management Dilemmas in       Healthcare (Kindle Edition). Foundation of the American College of         Healthcare Executives, Second Edition.

Leave a Reply

