COMMUNITY SERVICE

 

 

COMMUNITY SERVICE

 

 

 

Name

 

Course

 

Professor

Institution

City and State

Date

 

 

 

 

 

 

COMMUNITY SERVICE

PAPER 1

Description of what happened

My recent visit to an orphanage marked one of my most historical moments. On arrival, we received a warm welcome from happy little kids. Their faces were glowing and portrayed joy and happiness for seeing us. We took a short tour, guided by the manager around the orphanage. The compound was small and the place looked squeezed and overpopulated. They had a small playground and their rooms were squeezed in one corner. They also had a small garden where they grew vegetables for their own consumption. We took photos and helped them water the crops. They enjoyed it very much and for a moment, it is as if they forgot all their problems. Before we left, I had a noble opportunity to interview a 10-year-old boy who willingly shared his experiences in the orphanage. One thing I garnered that moved me was that the orphan lived craving for a day some well-wisher would show up to adopt him.

Feelings

I could not help but think of my life compared to those children. My parents availed everything to my comfort, which I sometimes disregarded. I had the habit of acting insatiable and cursing my fate. I had everything I needed, that which these children could not even dream about. This visit served as a starting point of my change of attitude.

Evaluation

This visit had a host of many good things as well as bad ones. One of the good things is that we learned that it is always important to appreciate the little things we have before asking for more. These children led a happy life though they lacked so much. One bad thing I learned is that orphanages are mostly neglected.  This tour also geared me to desire to conduct a research about orphanages and how the government and well-to-do agencies might help them hold up.

Analysis

It is possible that other orphanages, which we did not visit, are in poorer conditions than the one we visited. It is imperative that the society seeks to help such institutions run.

Conclusion

Given an opportunity, I could have sought the cooperation of my classmates in collecting any material items we could afford to take to the orphanages.

Action Plan

We plan to visit orphanages regularly. This time not empty handed, but with the little help and support we can offer.  We recommend the government to take its social responsibility to fund the running of orphanages.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PAPER 2

Description of what happened

A few days ago, we had a noble opportunity to visit an orphanage. We were received warmly by a host of joyful, expectant children. It was from here that I started noting the miserable lives that these poor children led without an option. Many of the children wore old clothes repeatedly because they did not have much to choose from. They had a poor command of language having not had the opportunity to go to school. They engaged in small jobs like watering small plants, washing dirty clothes and other duties that many of us found odd, especially as ladies. I happened to interact with some orphans for a chat about their lives in the orphanage, who in a sweet gentle voice answered all my questions anxiously. She told me that food was a problem and they sometimes work the entire time in empty stomachs. This shocked me to the point of almost shedding a tear. Seeing this, she told me in a small voice that they were accustomed to all hardships and there was no use crying. She further told me that most of the children were fond of studying, only that they were limited off the opportunity.

Feelings

Throughout my tour, I could not help but wonder and fathom how these kids survived in an environment of hardships like that. Their access to basic needs was limited and they still maintained compassionate tones unlike us who have all but are still uncomfortable. I felt challenged by the whole situation. I wished I had all the might to enable each of these children get to the reality of their assorted dreams.

Evaluation

One good thing about my experience is that it exposed me to the reality of life. People have unequal opportunities; some are privileged, while others are just unlucky. But no matter what side one finds themselves in, life provides one a chance to thrive. One bad thing about my experience through the visit was that I went back home feeling like crying after realizing how unfair and unbalanced that life can be.

Analysis

A further look at the situation made me realize that this was not the only orphanage in the locality. I could not help imagine what other orphanages looked like, and this gave me sleepless nights.

Conclusion

I concluded that I had to try to influence my friends to create an Interact Club through which we could be visiting orphanages and offer them the help (moral or material) that we could.

Action Plan

If an opportunity like this comes again, I would be better prepared to help these less privileged children as much as I could both materially and with the right words to encourage them to move on with life no matter the circumstances are.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

