Advance practice nurse

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Personal Statement: Nursing

Name

Institution

Course Title

Instructor

Date

 

 

SON 1

Nursing is a lifetime learning experience, a profession and a vocation I would really wish to be part of. My desire is to be a fully registered and qualified nurse who is trusted in the construction of a foundation past nursing training and future advances.

Strengths

The field of nursing requires one to be kind and compassionate. I am very kind and compassionate and these have been my major strengths even before I decided to be part of the nursing profession. I have strong interpersonal skills which are evident in the way I socialize, treat other people and how I run my day to day activities. I have mastered very well the ability to bring out the best not only in myself but in others as well. I am also a determined individual. I will not stop at something unless I have fully accomplished it. I do not give up easily and I would not stop until the work is properly done. Caring for others, being kind and staying determined has made me fit without struggling into the nursing profession and increased the ability to be trusted by patients, fellow colleagues showing I could be a potential leader in the absence of top management.

Weaknesses

I am always worried every time work is not done up to standard because I would make sure I double check the work all the time to ensure guidelines are followed. I only encourage exceptional work and so I would not rest until I confirm everything has been done to standard. This has made it easier for me to be trusted as a leader because the top management does not have to worry when I am in control. At Philippine Red Cross placement, I was placed at the forefront of designing health promotion techniques and building community relationships. I am not detail oriented and patient but I believe the nursing experience that lies ahead of me will turn me into a patient and detail oriented individual.

SON 2

It was during my placement at the Philippine Red Cross that I acquired my leadership skills. As a nurse instructor at the community nurse department, part of my duties revolves around health promotion and disease prevention which involved having one on one conversation with the people of the community. Having to talk with different people in the community was quite challenging for me because sharing health information with people who have problems in reading and understanding could be essentially very hard but I made it accomplished my goals effectively and this determination is what I believe makes me unique. As a practitioner in the field of nursing, I believe all nurses must have great critical thinking skills and pay exceptional attention to detail which I must say I have been successful in while in the Oncology department.

I was also charged with the responsibility of ensuring patients are provided with chemotherapy demands. It was at this point that I realized that nurses must to be detail oriented especially when checking for abnormal signs. A case in scenario was when a patient came in for her third therapy denying having any symptoms of fatigue though I noticed that she did not have enough energy to perform normal duties. Overlooking such small details could lead to unacceptable results which could later affect the patient’s condition. Whenever I got the chance, I would practice how to apply my critical thinking skills in decision making and polish my attention to detail skills.

During chemotherapy, I realized that I must be able to think fast and act even faster to prevent the patient from any adverse effects. These qualities have appreciated more during my time at Ospital ng Makati in Phillipines. Though it was a government hospital, it was during this experience that I was presented with the privilege to work with less privileged communities, taking care of them, treating them with equality and motivating them into bringing out the best in what they do. I am a unique candidate for this application because I have firsthand experience in knowing the basic health needs at community level and will be of help in designing health prevention techniques for the university in future.

SON 3

I have confidence that my 10 year working experience as a nurse practitioner in the different community settings would grow me into a successful, committed and motivated nurse practitioner. Serving underprivileged communities solidified my dream to have a desire to help the underprivileged find resources and abilities to help them access quality healthcare. This experience drove me into anticipating ways in which we as a nursing profession can work to integrate health promotion, disease prevention and health maintenance into Philippine communities to escalate their general status which prepared me even better to become an advanced practice nurse. For instance during a one on one session with the chemotherapy patient, I was presented with a chance to apply my critical thinking skills and design my own model of leadership.

A leader must pay attention to detail and use exceptional critical thinking and decision making skills for the safety of the patient. In this experience I met all these demands which has strengthened my desire to stay at the leadership position. In working with underprivileged communities, I was presented with the chance to design a strategy that will ensure the healthcare needs of the same community are met. At the forefront, I was able to apply all the theories and concepts taught in the nursing profession into designing strategies that will integrate health promotion, disease prevention and maintenance of health in the community. The unique background at the governmental hospital in Philippine just how much I thirst for more knowledge in nursing than I thought. It was from my experience background that I learnt to be not just caring but more caring not only with patients but in other interpersonal relationships.

Leave a Reply

