Transition To Adulthood Interview Project

Transition To Adulthood Interview Project

Ashley believes holding a job that enables a person to support themselves is necessary to adulthood, but more important than that is being old enough to make one’s own decisions. This action is similar to what the other two respondents said. Sydney claimed it was most important to be financially stable, while autonomy and mental maturity were also milestones. Morgan placed all the significance of being an adult on financial independence. While my classmates were mostly in agreement that adults are defined primarily on financial self-sufficiency, my own definition emphasized age and mental capacity. Most of the people supported the financial independence because adults choose what to acquire without or minimal interference from other people. However, my definition of mental capacity and age is supported from the articles provided because adults interact from different environment and do gain experience on how to interact and associate with the people developing their mental capacity due to their existence in the world.

Even though I have never been able to afford my own place, I believe I have been an adult for several years. I have lived with family, friends, and my girlfriend, all the time considering myself as an adult. I have known many people who cannot make decisions for themselves and break down when life throws them a curve ball because they always carry out consultation and require guidance before making decisions. I still consider them adults, even though they act like children because these characters are associated to children who are not sure of what they want. There is a transition into adulthood that some people start and finish earlier than others.these transmission is influenced by many factors.  It is primarily physical (being fully physically developed in my early twenties made me feel like an adult), but it is also the mental, emotional, and financial development of a person that makes them a fully-grown individual. These developments go hand in hand with the evolution into adulthood because I had to physically grow where by body parts increased, the mental development is the thinking capacity and reasoning opportunity I acquired through the growth. The emotional growth is the feelings that develop into adulthood like love, being happy, angry, and sad. Lastly, the financial development is being able to earn or have income that is completely mine and none can dictate me on what to do with it. This development is increased because an adult get involved in many activities that earns him or her income.

I developed my beliefs on adulthood by my own journey, as well as observing others, but Ashley’s parents taught her what it means to be an adult. Sydney did not learn directly from her parents, but she learned by observing her parents and more recently observing her peers. Morgan learned from her parents and society in general, particularly through the media, the defining characteristics of a grown-up. Everyone learns things differently, and is impacted at different levels by common sources. These explanations illustrate how learning takes place. Some learn by observation while others are taught directly by the people in their surroundings. Additionally, the environment dictates how learning and development takes place. Thus, it makes sense that we all had different understandings of adulthood, just as we have all had different transitions into adulthood.

One’s family is possibly the biggest influence on when and how a person transitions from childhood into maturity takes place. Ashley’s parents provide her food, clothes, and shelter. These actions enables her to focus on school work for as long as she want until she can graduate and get a job that sufficiently pays for her independence. Her parents took out student loans in her name to pay for college fees, which is very different from my experience of getting a job, paying a portion of rent, and taking out my own student loans. This situation could be the determining factor in why Ashley feels she’s not yet an adult. This reason is because Sydney is still pampered and does not feel obligated to take care of some responsibilities that are being performed by her parents. Sydney has a job, but her parents still pay for her tuition and rent. Morgan’s parents pay for everything, but she works part-time so she can give them back some of the money they spend.

Other than the physical transition, parents and children each decide when the other transitions into adulthood start. Ashley’s mother moved out of her parents’ house as soon as she could after high school. Ashley’s father moved out at twenty-six, but he continued to help his mom financially. Both of Ashley’s parents started working in their teens and are very supportive of Ashley going to college, so she doesn’t have to struggle like they did. Ashley is much closer to her parents than we are with our parents, even though her dad is somewhat close with his mom.

Sydney’s parents both moved out after high school, and her dad put himself through college while working full-time. They are both very happy and supportive of their daughter because they were “thrown into [adulthood].” She’s much closer to her parents than they were to their parents at Ashley’s age. The resentment they had has since subsided and Ashley’s parents now have good relationships with their parents.

The environment at which a person live also determine the growt of that person, for instance, Morgan’s father was abandoned at sixteen and forced to fend for himself. Her mom moved out at nineteen. They both are happy and supportive that Morgan is going to college and depending on them financially. They worked to make sure she was not “forced” into adulthood like they were. Her relationship with her parents is “fantastic.” She is much closer with her parents than they are with their parents.

My parents both moved out when they were teens, but they didn’t want me to go through the same rough transition. Nevertheless, at nineteen I chose to move to Florida and live with my grandmother, under the pretense that she and the rest of my family here would be supportive of me finishing my education. However, my family in Florida wants me to get a full-time job, or two if I have to, so I can live on my own. I was forced to move out of my grandmother’s house years ago and finish college on my own. Even though I say “on my own” I am still not able to afford rent independently. This has caused me to place less significance on financial independence in my definition of being an adult. My mother is my best friend so we are much closer than she is with her parents.

Methodological Reflection

I am under the opinion that people who were supported by their parents through college would be closer to their parents than people who were “forced” or “thrown into” adulthood. I started to probe more with each round of interviewing. Instead of just asking, “What kind of financial support do you get from your family, if any?” I probed deeper into whether the respondent had a job, student loans, or wanted more financial support from family. It was difficult not to probe with leading questions. I had a hard time refraining from putting words in the respondent’s mouths when trying to get them to elaborate.

Leave a Reply

